CELLAR Community Meeting 2022

Building 114, Room 201/202 (HZDR)

Building 114, Room 201/202


Bautzner Landstrasse 400, 01328 Dresden, Germany
Detlev Degering (VKTA), Daniel Bemmerer (HZDR), Konrad Schmidt (HZDR), Kai Zuber (TU Dresden)


download © Eliana Masha

CELLAR Community Meeting 2022

The European underground physics laboratories community has been driving progress in a number of domains. 

Low-level radiation measurements rely on the suppression of cosmic-ray induced background. Such a suppression may be afforded by performing such measurements in underground laboratories. This technique has enabled, among others, materials selection for ultra-low level experiments searching for rare and new physics processes, highly sensitive environmental radioactivity studies, and cross section measurements by the activation method.

In addition, nuclear astrophysics, low seismic background techniques, and materials science studies have also seen accelerated progress owing to underground physics laboratories. 

In recent years, a number of technical advances including, but not limited to, improved material selection to reduce residual backgrounds from the detector, layered passive shielding, active shielding, and new detectors and electronics have led to significant advances in sensitivity.

The three-day workshop (Monday noon until Wednesday noon) will provide an update on recent progress in the field and network the related community, including also innovation parters from industry. In order to consolidate the recent advances, it is intended to renew the Collaboration of European Low-level LAboRatories (CELLAR) at this meeting: both scientifically and with an aimed formal agreement.

The meeting will include both oral and poster presentations. There is no conference fee. Participants are responsible for their own travel, lodging, and meals. Exceptions are the coffee breaks (sponsored by CAEN, ISEG, and TIK), lunch breaks (1 free lunch per day per participant) as well as the conference dinner (sponsored by Mirion Technologies) on Tuesday evening.


  • Alexandru Gherghel-Lascu
  • Axel Boeltzig
  • Christoph Seibt
  • Daniel Bemmerer
  • Detlev Degering
  • Edward Banks
  • Eliana Masha
  • Gerd Heusser
  • Guillaume Warot
  • Hans Hoffmann
  • Hans-Juergen Lange
  • Helmut Mischo
  • Iolanda Osvath
  • Jochen Schreiner
  • Johannes Wuensche
  • Julia Puputti
  • Juliane Volkmer
  • Kai Zuber
  • Konrad Schmidt
  • Marcel Grieger
  • Marie Pichotta
  • Matthias Köhler
  • Matthias Laubenstein
  • Michèle Heurs
  • Mikael Hult
  • Nicola Ackermann
  • Olaf Hellwig
  • Pascal Quirin
  • Paul Schotanus
  • Pieter van Beek
  • Richard Husar
  • Sebastian Lindemann
  • Sher Baz
  • Simon Ruemmler
  • Steffen Turkat
  • Thomas Hensel
  • Till Lossin
  • Tobias Pöthig
  • Ulf Stolzenberg
  • Xianke He
  • Yingjie Chu