## Hungarian-German WE-Heraeus Seminar









Contribution ID: 29 Type: not specified

## Electrical conductivity of a warm neutron star crust in magnetic fields: Neutron-drip regime

Wednesday 25 June 2025 17:50 (5 minutes)

We compute the anisotropic electrical conductivity tensor of the inner crust of a compact star at nonzero temperature by extending a previous work on the conductivity of the outer crust. The physical scenarios, where such crust is formed, involve protoneutron stars born in supernova explosions, binary neutron star mergers, and accreting neutron stars. The temperature-density range studied covers the transition from a semidegenerate to a highly degenerate electron gas and assumes that the nuclei form a liquid, i.e., the temperature is above the melting temperature of the lattice of nuclei. The electronic transition probabilities include (i) the screening of electron-ion interaction in the hard-thermal-loop approximation for the QED plasma, (ii) the correlations of the ionic component in a one-component plasma, and (iii) finite nuclear size effects. The conductivity tensor is obtained from the Boltzmann kinetic equation in relaxation time approximation accounting for the anisotropy introduced by a magnetic field. The sensitivity of the results towards the matter composition of the inner crust is explored by using several compositions of the inner crust, which were obtained using different nuclear interactions and methods of solving the many-body problem. The standard deviations of relaxation time and components of the conductivity tensor from the average are below  $\leq 10\%$  except close to crust-core transition, where nonspherical nuclear structures are expected. Our results can be used in dissipative magnetohydrodynamics simulations of warm compact stars.

**Primary authors:** Prof. SEDRAKIAN, Armen (Frankfurt Institute for Advanced Studies, D-60438 Frankfurt am Main, Germany; Institute of Theoretical Physics, University of Wroclaw, 50-204 Wroclaw, Poland); Dr HARU-TYUNYAN, Arus (Byurakan Astrophysical Observatory, Byurakan 0213, Armenia; Department of Physics, Yerevan State University, Yerevan 0025, Armenia); GEVORGYAN, Narine (A. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory); Dr HAYRAPETYAN, Mekhak (Department of Physics, Yerevan State University, Yerevan 0025, Armenia)

Presenter: GEVORGYAN, Narine (A. Alikhanyan National Science Laboratory)

Session Classification: Poster session