17th Rußbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics

Hotel Gasthof Waldwirt

Hotel Gasthof Waldwirt

Gseng 33, 5442 Rußbach am Pass Gschütt
Olivier Sorlin (GANIL) , Konrad Schmidt (HZDR) , Sara Palmerini (INFN Perugia & University of Perugia, Italy)

Registration is open until January 31, 2022.

We announce that the 17th Russbach School on Nuclear Astrophysics will again take place at the village of Rußbach am Paß Gschütt, southeast of Salzburg, Austria. The school dates will be from March 13 (arrival and registration) to March 19 (departure) 2022. This school partners with ChETEC-INFRA, Chemical Elements as Tracers of the Evolution of the Cosmos - INFRAstructures for Nuclear Astrophysics, a new European starting community of 32 partner institutions and belongs to the European Network of Nuclear Astrophysics Schools (ENNAS). We shall limit the number of participants to about 60 to ensure a convivial atmosphere, and the possibility to share dinners between all participants.

In keeping with its tradition, the school will bring together specialists from the various sub-fields of astrophysics, astronomy, cosmochemistry and nuclear physics with the aim to raise mutual interest and to teach under- and postgraduate students, young post-docs as well as senior scientists interested to be introduced to nuclear astrophysics. The school will be organized in major topical sessions, with dedicated lecture time for basic introduction, presentations of the various aspects of the topic, and ample time for discussions and out-door activities in the Dachstein West mountain region.

Students and young researchers are highly encouraged to give oral presentations. The websites for previous schools, for those interested in seeing a historical overview of some of our previous lecturers, can be found at the following links:

The accommodation expenses for the school's duration, including half board (breakfast and dinner), will be announced here soon. (We expect approx. €420 for a double-room, and approx. €500 for a single room. These include taxes, and these prices include your breakfast and your evening dinner, lunch is not included.) Note further that single rooms are reserved for special cases, such as speakers with accompanying family/children. In addition, we will ask for modest registration fees for senior scientists, post-docs and PhD students. There will be no fee for undergraduate students.


© Kerschbaumer
Hotel Landhaus Ausswinkl for accommodation, dinner and registration

© Wintersteller
Hotel Gasthof Waldwirt for accommodation, coffee breaks, and lectures

School poster

Registration form
72 / 72
  • Andreas Halkjelsvik Mjøs
  • Andrew Ratkiewicz
  • Anita Capelli
  • Anu Kankainen
  • Aurora Tumino
  • Boris Pritychenko
  • Brad Gibson
  • Chiranjib Mondal
  • David Aguado
  • David Werner
  • Dijana Đeorđić
  • Dominik Koll
  • Emma Monpribat
  • Erin White
  • Felix Heim
  • Ferdinando Patat
  • Filippo Angelini
  • Francesca Triggiani
  • Francesco Pogliano
  • Francois de Oliveira Santos
  • Gabriel Martinez-Pinedo
  • Gabriele CONTURSI
  • Gerrit Leck
  • Henriette Wirth
  • Hoa Dinh Thi
  • Ignacio Lopez de Arbina
  • Ionut-Catalin Stefanescu
  • Jakub Skowronski
  • Jean Nippert
  • Jenny Feige
  • János Kodolányi
  • Jérôme Guilet
  • Kaitlin Webber
  • Kate Womack
  • Kevin C.W. Li
  • Khum Raj Thapa
  • Konrad Schmidt
  • Laura Magrini
  • Livius Trache
  • Marcel Heine
  • marco la cognata
  • Maria Letizia Sergi
  • Maria Markova
  • Mario Jakobs
  • Marta Molero
  • Martin Müller
  • Matej Lipoglavšek
  • Mouna Bouhelal
  • Nicolas de Séréville
  • Oliver Eggenberger Andersen
  • Olivier SORLIN
  • Pavel Kroupa
  • Rahul Jain
  • Remco Zegers
  • Reto Trappitsch
  • Roland Diehl
  • Rosanna Depalo
  • Ruchi Mahajan
  • Sara Palmerini
  • Sebastian Zwickel
  • Svenja Wilden
  • Sándor Kovács
  • Sébastien Martinet
  • Tibor Norbert Szegedi
  • Tyler Wheeler
  • Valerio Formato
  • Vibhuti Vashi
  • Vimal Vijayan
  • wanja Paulsen
  • Ása Skúladóttir